Welcome to Our Home, Dishwasher

For seven years, I’ve been planning on remodeling my little 1940s galley kitchen. And for seven years, it’s been put off.

You know how it goes. This or that needs fixed, other expenses come up, etc.

One of the major reasons for me wanting to remodel the kitchen has always been to make a space for a dishwasher – that cool modern appliance that could save me from hours and hours of hand washing dishes in front of the sink. Oh, the gloriousness of it!

Well, with a baby on the way, BP and I have been seriously looking at ways we can save ourselves time (and money, but in this case, time is the greater of the two). After a little bit of discussion, he talked me into a portable dishwasher.

I really had no idea how these things worked. I figured he would install some kind of water hookup, and we’d plug it in, and it would be magical.

Not quite. With a portable dishwasher, you actually have to wheel it to the sink and hook it up to your faucet. No joke. Maybe I’m the only person who had no idea how this worked.

We brought home a little 18″ portable Danby dishwasher. And though it feels a little hokey wheeling it to the sink, it is seriously a time saver. I don’t know why I waited so long to get one! This little buddy has already saved me time (time that I can now spend writing new blog posts!), and in fact, the little guy is working hard right now washing my silverware, plates and bowls.

Check it out:

portable dishwasher

Our little Danby portable dishwasher, tucked into its little corner.

dishwasher hookup

This is how the dishwasher connects to the sink. Little did I know!

dishwasher

The Danby, working its magic.

Leave a Reply

