From Junk Room to Kids’ Activity Room, Hopefully

This is my summer project:

junk room

The room that used to be the office

And this photo was taken after I had removed several infant car seats and infant bath tubs. They went into the attic until we need them again.

At one time, this room was my office. You can see that at one time, there was a tiny bit of organization happening here:

office organization

At one time, I attempted to organize things.

And this shelf has actually stayed semi-organized, but that’s mostly because the dog crate is blocking it:

shelf

Some organization is still intact

But, then we went through a remodeling project, and this room became a convenient place to put things that we would “deal with later.” Ha.

Then, we had a baby. Again, this room became a convenient place to put things that we would “deal with later.”

It’s later. And admitting I have a problem is the first step, right?

The goal: turn this room into an organization kids’ activity area/mom’s craft room.

Maybe if each of my semi-OCD friends spent an hour in there, it would be done really fast? Any volunteers? No? Okay. Carry on, then.

So I’m hoping that publicly showcasing my Room of Shame will be more incentive to make it usable again. Here’s to a spot for crayons, puzzles, coloring books, sewing supplies and more!

Suggestions welcome.

3 thoughts on “From Junk Room to Kids’ Activity Room, Hopefully

  1. Ummm I’m actually volunteering. I embrace my OCD. Name the day and I’m there….as long as I don’t have a volleyball tournament, soccer game or dance recital.

    Like

    • Ha! With three kids, you may not ever have a day to utilize your OCD tendencies in my house 🙂 But I will let you know when I’m devoting the next day to this – I need all the help I can get. It’s atrocious.

      Like

Leave a Reply

