Settling in as The Waltons

We finally finished moving out of the house and are settling with the in-laws while we look for a new place.

My mother-in-law is a funny lady, and she refers to us all as the Waltons. In fact, this is her Facebook profile pic right now:

The Waltons

The Waltons

My mother-in-law doesn’t blog, so you won’t get to read her funny updates about us all moving in with her, but I will share one with you:

May 3: I have not written about the other Walton that is living with us because, frankly, I just don’t love her like the others. She actually irritates me at times, she smells at times and I’d rather not share more. I’m sorry, I know you shouldn’t play favorites – just read Genesis and see what trouble happened by choosing favorites. I just can’t help it. I totally get it Abraham, Jacob, and others. So this is my true confession. I just don’t love Greta, the dog the same as Eli and Eva. There I said it. She is kinda cute but still not my favorite. Do you think she knows?

(Remember the dog, who puked on the carpeting during our I’d-rather-not-remember-it transition weekend?)

The woman is developing a cult following of her friends and family members who log on each day hoping for more.

Anyways, moving into someone else’s house does have its challenges, but the in-law’s place has a lot of what we’re looking for in a house: main floor laundry facilities, full-size dishwasher, country location, room for farm animals.

I mentioned this to my father-in-law, who since then has been kind enough to offer some suggestions of homes we should check out. Okay, okay, we can take a hint 😉

6 thoughts on “Settling in as The Waltons

  1. Pingback: Celebrating 10 Years of Marital Bliss (Mostly) | Thoughts from a Redhead

  2. Pingback: It’s Official: We Found a New Place | Thoughts from a Redhead

  3. Pingback: She Stays, He Goes: Everyone is Happier | Thoughts from a Redhead

  4. Pingback: How to Make Living With Your In-Laws Work | Thoughts from a Redhead

  5. Pingback: 30 Days of Thankfulness, Day 4: Shelter | Thoughts from a Redhead

  6. Pingback: 30 Days of Thankfulness, Day 17: My Own Home | Thoughts from a Redhead

Leave a Reply

