How to Make Living With Your In-Laws Work

If you’ve been following along here, you’ll know that since we sold our house so quickly, Ben and I (and our littles) are living with my in-laws until our new place is ready.

Whenever I tell anyone this, I generally either get looks of horror or looks of sympathy, with the same tentative ”So, how’s it going?“

people

You live with your in-laws???

I promise you (and not just because my mother-in-law reads my blog) that it’s going fine. Really, it is.

I know what you’re thinking (because people say these things to me): “Really? Really it’s going fine? How is that possible? I couldn’t take it!”

My in-laws are great. They’re easy going and fun, and they have good perspective on life in general. I started dating Ben when I was 16, so I’ve been around a while (nearly 16 years), and they put up with me really well. I am, by far, the most high maintenance person living in the house at the moment (and at the moment, there are eight people).

Maybe I just have the World’s Best In-Laws. In the case that I do, and you are stuck with the Second Best In-Laws, here are some suggestions for how you can make your situation work:

  • Be flexible. You can’t go imposing your schedule on other people when you’re living in their house. You like to eat at 5:30 p.m. on the dot? Well, you may need to bend the rules a little bit.
  • Accept that people do things differently than you do. Maybe they don’t do laundry like you would, or dishes like you would, or clean like you would. Maybe they only brush their teeth in the middle of the day, and you brush yours in the morning. Whatever. It’s okay.
  • Maintain perspective. Do you have a roof over your head and a warm (or cool, whatever your preference) bed to sleep in? Yes? Oh, okay. Then maybe it doesn’t matter so much that you had to wait 10 minutes to use the restroom.
  • Keep communication open. Something really bothering you? Then talk about it, nicely, before it escalates into a very avoidable tense situation. You’re not going to win every battle; pick them wisely.
  • Remember Colossians 3:23-24

23 Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for human masters, 24 since you know that you will receive an inheritance from the Lord as a reward. It is the Lord Christ you are serving.

Have you ever lived with your in-laws (or your parents)? How did it go? What advice would you give to someone going through the same situation?

3 thoughts on “How to Make Living With Your In-Laws Work

  1. My sister and her entire family (husband and 3 kids aged 3, 5, and 7 at the time, and their dog) lived with my husband and I for 6 months when their house sold quickly and their new place was in Africa! We loved having them. We lived by the same principles you mentioned and we also tried to focus on how we could serve a member of the other family each day. We went above and beyond to help around the house, cook and help with the kids. It all went so well, that we cried for a week when they left to move to Africa! Thankfully they are now back from Africa! My family (husband and boys 10 months and 2 years) stayed with my sister and her family for the past week! It was great to hang out and have such a great time with them.
    Always remember that it is hard to live with someone, but I find it even harder to live 5 hours away from them!!!
    I am so glad that you are having a great experience with your in-laws! You are so blessed!
    Joy

    Like

    • We both are blessed with great family members, aren’t we? It makes everything easier when everyone is kingdom-minded! Glad you had a good visit recently. Ohio misses you!

      Like

  2. Pingback: 30 Days of Thankfulness, Day 9: Air Conditioning | Thoughts from a Redhead

Leave a Reply

